Alice’s Adventures Under Ground

By Lewis Carroll

Illustrated by Lewis Carroll

ISBN: 9781847497772

112 pages

RRP: £6.39

In 1864, Lewis Carroll sent Alice’s Adventures Under Ground, a handwritten and illustrated manuscript, as a gift to Alice Liddell, the daughter of his Oxford dean. This formed the basis for Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland – introducing timeless characters such as Alice, the White Rabbit, the Queen of Hearts and the Gryphon – although it differs considerably from the later work, with the author himself approving its publication in 1886.

Alice’s Adventures Under Ground provides an enchanting glimpse into Carroll’s imaginative process, and deserves to be ranked as a classic for all ages in its own right.

For more children classics click here

Lewis Carroll

Lewis Carroll was an English Mathematician, logician and author, most famous for his contributions to the genre of literary nonsense. His novels Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass, as well as his poems The Jabberwocky and Hunting the Snark have proved extremely popular, and have embedded themselves in modern cultural consciousness in Britain and abroad.