Complete Poems

By John Keats

ISBN: 9781847497567

448 pages

RRP: £7.99

Already with thee! tender is the night,
And haply the Queen-Moon is on her throne,
Cluster’d around by all her starry Fays;
But here there is no light,
Save what from heaven is with the breezes blown
Through verdurous glooms and winding mossy ways.

Despite his tragically short life, John Keats, a self-confessed “rebel Angel”, endures for many as a personifi cation of the Romantic age. While contemporary critics mocked him as a “Cockney poet” and an uneducated lower-class “apothecary” who aspired to poetry, subsequent generations began to see and appreciate both the rich and impassioned sensuousness and the love of beauty and liberty that pervade his work.

From Endymion and Hyperion to ‘The Eve of St Agnes’, ‘La Belle Dame sans Merci’ and the Odes, this collection, which presents Keats’s oeuvre in chronological order, displays his rapid poetic growth, the development of his philosophical and spiritual beliefs and the voluptuous, silken nature of his verse.

This edition contains notes on the text, a list of abbreviated titles, notes, extra material and an index of first lines.

Also available in Alma list Written in Water: John Keats’s Final Journey by Alessandro Gallenzi

Part of The Great Poets Collection now at half price
For more poetry click here




  • No one else in English poetry, save Shakespeare, has in expression quite the fascinating felicity of Keats, his perfection of loveliness.

    Matthew Arnold

John Keats

Though little known in his own lifetime, John Keats (1795–1821) is now considered one of the foremost poets of English literature, with his Odes and poems such as ‘La Belle Dame sans Merci’ and ‘On First Looking into Chapman’s Homer’ now regarded as masterpieces.