D.H. Lawrence – Three Books

By D.H. Lawrence

RRP: £15.00

This collection includes three of D.H. Lawrence’s works:

Sons and Lovers

Closely autobiographical, and widely considered to be the first English novel with a truly working-class background, Sons and Lovers is the affecting portrait of a mining family torn apart by class divisions and the conflict between filial love and the urge to follow one’s own desires.

Lady Chatterley’s Lover

Originally published in Italy in 1928, and unavailable in Britain until 1960, when it was the subject of an infamous obscenity trial, Lady Chatterley’s Lover is now regarded as one of the pivotal novels of the twentieth century.

The Fox 

A compelling study of the question of power, gender and sexuality, as well as a realistic portrayal of war­time rural England, The Fox showcases Lawrence’s inimitable gift for psychological observation and dramatic description.


All editions are enriched by an extensive critical apparatus, notes and extra reading material, as well as a selection of photographs.

D.H. Lawrence

The son of a coal miner, D.H. Lawrence (1885–1930) was brought up in relative poverty, his working-class background providing inspiration for many of his early novels. Lawrence spent most of his adult life abroad in order to escape the conventions and hypocrisies of his own country, and advocated a return to a more harmonious relationship with nature in the face of modernity and industrialization. Controversial both during and after his lifetime, Lawrence’s novels represent a milestone in twentieth-century literature.