Jenufa / Katya Kabanova

By Leoš Janácek

ISBN: 9780714544342

128 pages

RRP: £8.00

This double volume contains two masterpieces of the Czech composer Leoš Janáček. Jenufa was the opera which finally brought him international recognition – and, with it, fame at home. Based on Ostrovsky’s The Storm, Katya Kabanova contains wonderful music inspired by the composer’s love for a much younger woman. The scores are discussed by Arnold Whittall, and the background sources are variously introduced by social and literary historians. John Tyrell comments on an important letter about the genesis of Katya; Sir Charles Mackerras describes his work as an interpreter and advocate of this brilliantly original and dramatic music.

Contents: A National Composer Jaroslav Krejči; Drama into Libretto, Karel Brusak; The Challenge from Within: Janáček’s Musico-dramatic Mastery, Arnold Whittall; Janáček and Czech Realism, Jan Smaczny; Jenůfa: Libretto by Leoš Janáček; Jenůfa: English translation by Otakar Kraus and Edward Downes; A Russian Heart of Darkness, Alex de Jonge; Janáček’s forgotten commentary on ‘Katya Kabanova’, John Tyrrell; Katya Kabanova: Libretto by Leoš Janáček; Katya Kabanova: English translation by Norman Tucker; Janáček’s Operas – Preparation and Performance, Charles Mackerras

For a full list of Calder Opera Guides in association with English National Opera click here


  • All these will provide the new opera-goer with food for thought.

    The Daily Telegraph

  • Brilliantly produced and superb value.

    The Sunday Times

  • Wholehearted recommendation of this valuable new series.


Leoš Janáček

Leoš Janáček (1854–1928) was a Czech composer and teacher. Until 1895 he devoted himself mainly to the study of national folklore music, which greatly influenced his work throughout his life.