The Abyss and Other Stories

By Leonid Andreyev

Translated by Hugh Aplin

ISBN: 9781847497239

320 pages


RRP: £8.99 £4.50

As the young Zinaida and her sweetheart, the student Nemovetsky, stroll through the idyllic Russian countryside, their memories, dreams and thoughts about life and the future mingle in the evening breeze. But when night falls, they hasten to retrace their steps back to town through a small wood, where they are accosted by three threatening drunkards, who knock Nemovetsky unconscious and start to chase the girl through the underwood. When the young student comes round, he is confronted with the horror of what has just happened.

Haunting, disquieting, shocking, ‘The Abyss’ – one of the most powerful short stories ever written – is accompanied in this volume by fifteen other stories by Andreyev, including ‘Silence’, ‘The Thief’ and ‘Lazarus’, some of them never translated before into English. Together, they provide a clear account of the lasting legacy of Russia’s foremost man of letters of the early twentieth century.

Contains: ‘Bargamot and Garaska’, ‘A Grand Slam’, ‘Silence’, ‘Once upon a Time There Lived’, ‘A Robbery in the Offing’, ‘The Abyss’, ‘Ben Tobit’, ‘Phantoms’, ‘The Thief’, ‘Lazarus’, ‘A Son of Man’, ‘Incaution’, ‘Peace’, ‘Ipatov’, ‘The Return’ and ‘The Flight’.


  • He’s trying to scare me, but I’m not scared.

    Leo Tolstoy

  • If there has ever been a Russian writer who mirrored his or her own creation completely, it was surely Leonid Andreyev. Haunting, disturbing, disquieting… dark, passionate, pompous, discordant, controversial – whichever word of power you choose, it is likely to describe both Andreyev and his writing.

    Vlad Zhenevsky
    Weird Fiction Review

Leonid Andreyev

A writer of plays, short stories and novels, Leonid Andreyev (1871–1919) is considered to be the leading exponent of the Silver Age of Russian literature.


Please note that the cut-off for orders before Christmas is midday on the 21st December. Click here for more information. Dismiss