Silent Music

By Jane Hawking

ISBN: 9781846884122

540 pages

RRP: £9.99 £7.99

From the number-one bestselling author of Travelling to Infinity: The True Story behind The Theory of Everything
Book 1 in the Immortal Souls series

Growing up in London in the aftermath of the Second World War, Ruth is an observant and thoughtful child who finds herself in a confusing and mysterious adult world. She seeks refuge in her memories of her idyllic stays with her grandparents in the picturesque East Anglian countryside – which provide comforting visions of a simpler life. As she comes to terms with her surroundings and her own adolescence, Ruth finds the motivation to pursue her dream of becoming an accomplished pianist, and discovers some family secrets along the way.

A coming-of-age novel about the unpredictable nature of human behaviour and about taking control of one’s destiny, Silent Music is a timeless portrait of post-war Britain, as well as a lyrical paean to hope and aspiration.

SKU: 9781846884122 Category: Tags: ,


  • If I am right and there are further episodes of this to come, then all I can say is the sooner the better as I am curious!!

    Dorothy Flaxman
    Nudge Books

Jane Hawking

Dr Jane Hawking, Stephen Hawking’s wife for over twenty-five years, is a writer, teacher and public speaker. Her memoir Travelling to Infinity, which became an Oscar-winning movie in 2015 under the title The Theory of Everything and was a number-one bestseller in the UK, was followed in 2016 by the novel Silent Music, the first volume in the Immortal Souls series.

Read an interview with Jane Hawking here