This book has not yet been published. It will be released on 25th July 2019. If you order it before this date, we will send it out as soon as copies are available.

Mugby Junction

By Charles Dickens

ISBN: 9781847498137

192 pages


RRP: £7.99

Published in the Christmas edition of All the Year Round, Mugby Junction is the result of Dickens’s collaboration with some of the leading writers of his day and contains four contributions by the author of Great Expectations and Oliver Twist, including what is arguably one of his most famous stories, ‘The Signalman’ – the chilling tale of a ghost’s apparition at the entrance to a tunnel, the harbinger of fatal accidents on the line.

Varied in tone and style, the eight stories included in this volume remain as fresh today as when they first appeared in 1866, and are a testament to the brilliance of Victorian literature, as well as a further proof of the versatility and exuberance of Dickens’s genius.

Includes: ‘Barbox Brothers’, ‘Barbox Brothers and Co.’, ‘Main Line: The Boy at Mugby’ and ‘No. 1 Branch Line: The Signalman’ by Charles Dickens, ‘No. 2 Branch Line: The Engine Driver’ by Andrew Halliday, ‘No. 3 Branch Line: The Compensation House’ by Charles Collins, ‘No. 4 Branch Line: The Travelling Post-Office’ by Hesba Stretton and ‘No. 5 Branch Line: The Engineer’ by Amelia B. Edwards

Charles Dickens

A literary phenomenon in his lifetime and renowned as much for his journalism and public speaking as for his novels, Charles Dickens (1812–70) now ranks as the most important Victorian writer and one of the most influential and popular authors in the English language. His memorable and vividly rendered characters and his combination of humour, trenchant satire and compassion have left an indelible mark on our collective imagination.